Getting to Root Cause

from Evan Durant at the Kaizen Notebook

August 3, 2010 by Evan Durant 

This is real 'root cause'
Root Cause Analysis is rarely this easy!

The picture above is of a sidewalk over which I run most days.  If you look closely, you’ll see that a section of the sidewalk has been replaced with fresh, new cement.  The reason is that the old section was pushed up, broken, and a terrible trip hazard on dark winter mornings.

Naturally I’m pleased with the improvement, but the lean thinker in me can’t help but see a flaw in this fix.  After all, look just to the left of the sidewalk and you can see the tree that caused the sidewalk damage in the first place.  In this case the root cause of the problem is, well, a root.  Assuming the tree continues to grow and the roots continue to spread, it seems like we’ll be paying to replace this sidewalk again in the future.

Anyone else out there patching a sidewalk with a tree growing underneath it?

3 thoughts on “Getting to Root Cause

  1. fibroids miracle book review April 17, 2013 / 3:11 pm

    Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m
    planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something completely unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • Bob Hubbard April 17, 2013 / 3:50 pm

      WordPress… and I am a shameless supporter. It takes about 5 minutes to create a blog. I recommend WordPress if you are using this for personal or small business purposes. It is VERY powerful and you can do a ton of customization.

      My favorite part of WordPress is the site analytics. I don’t use much of this info since I use my blogs as a place for stuff I find interesting… in a couple of clicks I can see the, “Most popular topics I’ve written about”, or I can see who is viewing my blog in the world map.

      Go to WordPress.com and get started. (No I do not have any stake in WordPress… but I do work in IT and I really wish that I had a tool as good as the FREE version of WordPress to use during my daily work!)

      bob h

  2. Mobile monitoring July 17, 2013 / 9:05 pm

    There is certainly a great deal to learn about this topic.

    I like all the points you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

